Modern Notebook for October 25, 2020

Composer Anna Clyne (Photo credit: Jennifer Taylor)

On this week’s Modern Notebook, Tyler Kline will share a string quartet by George Lewis titled “Experiments in Living;” also, the Four Corners Ensemble performs music by Shuying Li from their latest release, and an orchestral work that traverses stormy darkness to enchanted worlds: Anna Clyne’s Night Ferry.

Plus, music by Chaya Czernowin, Niki Harlafti, Leila Adu-Gilmore, David Lang, and others; and performances by pianist Liza Stepanova, ~Nois, cellist Amanda Gookin, violinist Benjamin Sung with pianist Jihye Chang, and more.

That’s on the next Modern Notebook, Sunday night from 8 to 10 on Classical WSMR 89.1 and 103.9.

Hour 1

  • fardanceCLOSE by Chaya Czernowin.
  • Shuying Li’s American Variations.
  • The String Quartet 1.5 by George Lewis: Experiments in Living.
  • Night Ferry by Anna Clyne.

Hour 2

  • Joy from David Lang’s Mystery Sonatas.
  • Butterfly Within by Mara Helmuth.
  • Niki Harlafti’s Vaisseau Fantome.
  • Insult to Injury by Curtis K. Hughes.
  • A work for cello and voice by Leila Adu-Gilmore’s titled For Edna.

Modern Notebook is hosted by WSMR’s Tyler Kline, and is a program that highlights music composed since the Mid-20th Century, with a special focus on the music of living composers.