Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840 – 1893)

Mozart & Tchaikovsky’s Twilight

The Concert (Dec. 6-8)

Michael Francis and the Florida Orchestra have a special performance of Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto and Tchaikovsky’s Symphony no. 6 “Pathetique” set to occur during the first week of December as part of the Tampa Bay Times Masterworks Series. Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto was one of his final compositions, and Tchaikovsky’s Symphony no. 6 “Pathetique” premiered just nine days before his death. However, the concert opens with Beethoven’s The Consecration of the House Overture. The allusions of new life temper the somber images of an individual’s twilight years. Clarinet Concerto serves as an opportunity for principal clarinetist Natalie Hoe to demonstrate her virtuosity.

Michael Francis

Michael Francis | Florida Orchestra

Michael Francis is Music Director for the Florida Orchestra. His contact with the orchestra began in 2015, but his ties to the Tampa Bay Area run deeper. His wife is a native of Lutz, Florida. Francis conducted for the London Symphony Orchestra and the Norrköping Symphony Orchestra in Sweden. The Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz Orchestra appointed him chief conductor for the 2019-2020 season. Natalie Hoe, the Florida Orchestra’s principal clarinetist, is a graduate of the Colburn Conservatory of Music. She has played for the San Antonio Symphony Orchestra and the American Youth Symphony Orchestra.

Beethoven, Mozart, and Tchaikovsky’s Selections

The Consecration of the House Overture was commissioned in 1822 for, as one might expect, the consecration of a house. The house in question was the Theater in der Josefstadt in Vienna. It was reopening after a long period of remodeling. Another notable performance of The Consecration of the House Overture was Beethoven’s concert at the Theater am Käntnertor in1824. This concert saw the premiere of Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9, his final complete symphony.

Composer Wolfgang Mozart

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)

Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto and Tchaikovsky’s Symphony no. 6 “Pathetique” are remarkably emotional pieces from their respective artists. Indeed, both pieces are filled with rapid tempo changes and stunning crescendos of instrumentation. Tchaikovsky wrote his final composition in a small house on the outskirts of Moscow. Throughout the composition’s genesis, Tchaikovsky agonized about its reception. He poured himself out one final time.“Pathetique” premiered on October 28, 1893 in St. Petersburg to joyous acclimation. Clarinet Concerto was published posthumously without a signed autograph, but has since become one of Mozart’s best known compositions. All of the compositions featured in this concert highlight the brilliance of their respective composers. “Old age should burn and rave at close of day; Rage, rage against the dying of the light.”

For tickets and more information on this concert visit