Sarasota Orchestra “Ludovic Morlot” Broadcast

This week our Tuesday Masterwork on Classical WSMR features The Sarasota Orchestra, with guest conductor Ludovic Morlot. This week’s concert includes Leoš Janáček’s “The Cunning Little Vixen” Suite, Claude Debussy’s Iberia, No. 2 from Images, and Antonín Dvořák’s “Legends.”

The Conductor

French conductor Ludovic Morlot is Conductor Emeritus of the Seattle Symphony, and was the music director from 2011 to 2019. Morlot helped innovate the orchestra by composing programs that feature theatrical productions and performances. In addition, Morlot has conducted the Berliner Philharmoniker, Royal Concertgebouw, and the Czech Philharmonic, to name a few.  Originally, Morlot was trained as a violinist and studied conducting at the Pierre Monteux School with Charles Bruck and Michael Jinbo. Morlot continued his education at the Royal Academy of Music in London and at the Royal College of Music as the recipient of the Norman del Mar Conducting Fellowship. Ludovic Morlot has acquired an extensive repertoire that will be a welcomed addition to the Sarasota Orchestra during this performance.[1]

The Works

Leoš Janáček’s “The Cunning Little Vixen” Suite kicks off this broadcast. Rudolf Tesnohlídek’s novella inspired Janáček’s composition. Janáček composed this work by building the music on the sounds and rhythms of spoken language. The way Janáček composed this work gives the composition an experimental tone.[2]

Claude Debussy’s Iberia, No. 2 from Images is one of histories more interesting works. The composer’s ability to craft a melodic piece is displayed in Debussy’s Iberia. He supports his Iberia through formulating strong instrumental innovation.[3]

Antonín Dvořák’s “Legends” consists of ten short pieces for four-hand piano that dates from Dvořák’s Slavic period. This work was commissioned by Fritz Simrock and was finished by the winter of 1881. In short, Karel Jaromír Erben’s poetry inspired “Legends” and showcases Dvořák’s ability to construct an enjoyable composition through his choice of instrumentation.[4]  

Staying Connected

Classical WSMR thanks the Sarasota Orchestra for sharing this music and giving us the chance to broadcast it for everyone to enjoy. At a time when it matters most – we are working together to keep the music playing!  Be sure to stay up to date with the Sarasota Orchestra on their website at And listen every Tuesday for a Masterwork with the Sarasota Orchestra. You can listen live at 89.1 or 103.9, on, and from your smartphone with the WUSF Public Media App. Also, you can ask your Smart Speaker to play Classical WSMR. If you miss a broadcast, you can listen to it on-demand at for 30 days after the airdate.


[1] “Biography for Ludovic Morlot.” Ludovic Morlot,

[2] “The Cunning Little Vixen Suite (Leoš Janáček).” LA Phil,

[3] “Debussy – Images for Orchestra: No 2. Ibéria.” Utah Symphony, 8 Nov. 2012, 

[4] “Legends.” Antonín Dvořák,