WSMR Quarterly Issue Reports - Q1 2020

The Florida Orchestra “American Masters” Broadcast

Stuart Malina and the Rascher Saxophone Quartet

The Rebroadcast is now available of our Thursday Masterwork with The Florida Orchestra is a concert called “American Masters” featuring Philip Glass’ Concerto for Saxophone Quartet with the Rascher Saxophone Quartet; the Symphony No. 1 by Christopher Theofanidis; Gershwin’s “An American in Paris;” and Bernstein’s Candide Overture. Stuart Malina conducts.

The Conductor

Since 2013, Stuart Malina has been the principal guest conductor of The Florida Orchestra. In addition, Malina has entered his 20th season as music director and conductor of the Harrisburg Symphony Orchestra in Pennsylvania. He is an accomplished pianist and won a Tony award for orchestration with Billy Joel for the musical “Movin’ Out.” Malina’s talent and charisma captivates audiences and is a welcomed addition to The Florida Orchestra.

The Works

Glass composed his Concerto for Saxophone Quartet for the Rascher Saxophone Quartet. The quartet wanted a work that could be played either with or without an orchestra, resulting in two versions of the piece. This is a unique work that showcases the saxophones beautiful tone and provides a spotlight for this instrument that is rarely used in classical compositions.

Initially, Theofanidis’ Symphony No. 1 was commissioned by The Atlanta Symphony for The Savannah Music Festival and the Immanuel & Helen Olshan Texas Music Festival. The symphony is an emotionally driven piece and consists of four movements. Theofanidis dedicated the work to his friend Robert Spano, a conductor, pianist, composer and teacher.

Gershwin composed “An American in Paris” after his 1926 visit to the famous city. The sounds of the cities taxi horns inspired Gershwin and were incorporated into the work. “An American in Paris” premiered at Carnegie Hall in December of 1928 and is considered to be a “rhapsodic ballet.”

18th-century writer François-Marie Arouet’s novella inspired Bernstein’s Candide Overture. Lillian Hellman proposed adapting the novella into a theatrical performance with Bernstein composing the score. Bernstein’s score found its footing in the 1960s as an orchestra work, although the work was not an initial success.

Stay Connected

Classical WSMR thanks The Florida Orchestra for providing us with this broadcast to help keep the music going during a time where it matters most! Visit The Florida Orchestra’s website for the latest updates on the orchestra at Listen every Thursday for a Masterwork with The Florida Orchestra. You can listen live at 89.1 or 103.9, on, and from your smartphone with the WUSF Public Media App. Also, you can ask your Smart Speaker to play Classical WSMR. If you miss a broadcast, you can listen to it on-demand at for 45 days after the airdate.

  • Jay's Fabric - TFO posts

  • Community Foundation - TFO posts