The Florida Orchestra “Mozart & Tchaikovsky” Broadcast

Natalie Hoe clarinet, Mozart Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra K662, Michael Francis conductor, The Florida Orchestra, Mahaffey Theater, December 7, 2019,

This week our Thursday Masterwork with The Florida Orchestra features Michael Francis leading the orchestra with Beethoven’s “Consecration of the House” Overture, Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto, featuring TFO principal clarinet Natalie Hoe, and the concert rounds out with Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6, “Pathetique.”

The Works

Beethoven was commissioned to compose a piece to accompany the opening of the newly renovated Josefstadt Theatre in Vienna. The Consecration of the House Overture opens with elegant chords and is followed by a march-like theme that builds in volume and leads to a gripping climax, demonstrating Beethoven’s mastery of composing classical compositions inspired by the Baroque period.[1] 

Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto embodies gentle melodic tones that are a worthy inclusion to the clarinet’s repertoire. Although this is the only concerto Mozart composed for the clarinet, it is considered to be the first great piece written for this instrument. Originally, Mozart composed this work for Anton Stadler, who played the basset clarinet. At the time, Stadler was the best clarinetist in Vienna and performed the concerto at the work’s premiere. Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto is a technically demanding piece but does possess a calm tone which illustrates Mozart’s emotional involvement in the work.[2]   

Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6, “Pathetique,” is a somber work that is frequently associated with the composer’s death. Tchaikovsky commented on this work, stating “Without exaggeration, I have put my whole soul into this work.”[3]

Stay Connected

Classical WSMR thanks The Florida Orchestra for providing us with this music for everyone to enjoy as we continue to work together during a time where it matters most! Stay up to date with The Florida Orchestra on their website at And listen every Thursday for a Masterwork with The Florida Orchestra. You can listen live at 89.1 or 103.9, on, and from your smartphone with the WUSF Public Media App. Also, you can ask your Smart Speaker to play Classical WSMR. If you miss a broadcast, you can listen to it on-demand at for 45 days after the airdate.

Preconcert Conversation: Mozart & Tchaikovsky



[1] “Beethoven, Ludwig – Consecration of the House Overture.” ASO,

[2] Schwarm, Betsy. “Clarinet Concerto in A, K 622.” Encyclopædia Britannica, Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc., 15 July 2014,

[3] Schwarm, Betsy. “Pathétique Symphony.” Encyclopædia Britannica, Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc., 3 Jan. 2017,

  • Jay's Fabric - TFO posts

  • Community Foundation - TFO posts