The Florida Orchestra: “Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 3” Broadcast

Conductor Michael Francis and Guest Pianist Joyce Yang

This week’s Thursday Masterwork with The Florida Orchestra features Symphony’s from Sibelius and Beethoven, and Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 3 with pianist Joyce Yang. Michael Francis conducts.

The Works

A symphony with just one-movement was rare in the 1920s, and Sibelius’ Symphony No. 7 is one of these rarities. Despite the work’s single movement, this symphony offers a variety of melodic tones filled with beauty and joy. Notably, this symphony is one of the composer’s last works and helped to establish Sibelius as one of the greatest symphonists of the 20th century.[1]

Beethoven’s odd-numbered symphonies are considered to be serious while his even-numbered symphonies are light-hearted. The composer’s Eighth Symphony goes against this common belief. Although the piece is considered short, Beethoven composed a mature work that went on to be one of the composer’s favorites.[2]

Rachmaninoff’s Third Piano Concerto was the first of many triumphs in America for the composer. The work premiered in 1909 under the New York Symphony Orchestra with Rachmaninoff as the soloist. The concerto was praised by critics for the work’s technical prowess and helped establish Rachmaninoff’s popularity in the United States.[3]

Stay Connected

Classical WSMR thanks The Florida Orchestra for providing us with this broadcast. This helps us to enjoy the music we love during a time where it matters most! Visit The Florida Orchestra’s website for the latest updates on the orchestra at Listen every Thursday for a Masterwork with The Florida Orchestra. You can listen live at 89.1 or 103.9, on, and from your smartphone with the WUSF Public Media App. Also, you can ask your Smart Speaker to play Classical WSMR. If you miss a broadcast, you can listen to it on-demand at for 45 days after the airdate.


Notes from the Maestro: Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto No. 3


[1] Schiavo, Paul. JEAN SIBELIUS Symphony No. 7 in C Major, Op. 105. 2015, file:///C:/Users/Owner/Downloads/SibeliusSymphony7.pdf.

[2] “About BEETHOVEN’s Symphony No. 8 in F Major, Op. 93.” Redlands Symphony,

[3] Elliott, Suzanne. “Rachmaninov – Piano Concerto No. 3 in D Minor.” Classic FM, 17 Apr. 2012, 

  • Jay's Fabric - TFO posts

  • Community Foundation - TFO posts