The Sarasota Orchestra: “Best of” Performances from Holley Hall

Composers Ludwig van Beethoven and Sergei Prokofiev

This week’s Tuesday Masterwork with The Sarasota Orchestra is a “Best Of” concert with chamber music performed in Holley Hall! Among other works, you’ll hear Beethoven’s Sextet for Two Horns and Prokofiev’s Sonata for Two Violins.

The Works

Beethoven’s Sextet for Two Horns is one of his earliest composed works and was written between 1794 and 1795, three years after the composer’s arrival to Vienna. This is a challenging piece for horn players to perform but helped Beethoven learn to write music like a Viennese Classical composer.[1]

During the 1917 Russian Revolution, Sergei Prokofiev left his homeland to pursue a career as a pianist and composer in the West. He studied western composition and wrote his Sonata for Two Violins in 1932, shortly before his third tour of the Soviet Union. The work illustrates Prokofiev’s studies in the Western world and is a playful work with excellent lyricism.[2]

Stay Connected

Classical WSMR thanks The Sarasota Orchestra for sharing this music and giving us the chance to broadcast it for everyone to enjoy. At a time when it matters most – we are working together to keep the music playing! Stay up to date with the Sarasota Orchestra on their website at And listen every Tuesday for a Masterwork with the Sarasota Orchestra. You can listen live at 89.1 or 103.9, on, and from your smartphone with the WUSF Public Media App. Also, you can ask your Smart Speaker to play Classical WSMR. If you miss a broadcast, you can listen to it on-demand at for 30 days after the airdate.


[1] “Program Notes.” San Francisco Symphony,

[2] Lowe, Steven. “Program Notes.” Seattle Symphony, 2015,